After reviewing entries from California to New York, Florida to Wisconsin, and all points in between, juror Dayton Castleman chose 39 works by 31 artists to hang in the Merkle and Price Galleries July 2-31. The artwork media runs the gamut from traditional watercolor, oil, and acrylic to non-traditional media including video, pine needle sculpture, and modified working microwaves. Castleman will announce his selections for awards at the artist reception July 2 at 6pm.

Castleman, who is the museum manager for 21c Museum in Bentonville, said, “I’m not so much concerned with whether art is easily digestible to the viewer, but with whether it demonstrates an illusiveness and maturity that creates intrigue and requires deep reading and engagement.”

Artists whose work will be hanging in the competition are: Helen Allen, Virginia; Lisa Blatt, California; Kori Bowers, Arkansas; Kelly Campbell, Arkansas; Sheila Cotton, Arkansas; Norwood Creech, Arkansas; Deanna Douglas; Mississippi; Richard Ensor, Tennessee; Houston Fryer, Arkansas; Louise Halsey, Arkansas; Cindy Holmes, Texas; Jean M. Judd, Wisconsin; James Jumper, Arkansas; Ahrong Kim, Pennsylvania; Ronald Kinkaid, Arkansas; Kaitlin Knapp, New York; Minny Lee, New Jersey; Sandra Marson, Arkansas; Galen Olmstead, Georgia; Spencer Purinton, Arkansas; David Rackley, Arkansas; Kristin Richards, Kentucky; Mary Ann Stafford, Arkansas; Bethany Taylor, Florida; Rachel Trusty, Arkansas; Rick Weis, Michigan; Kenna Westerman, Arkansas; Jessica Westhafer, Arkansas; Ralph Wilson, Arkansas; and Peggy Wyman, Missouri.

The 2014 Juried Art Competition is sponsored by Smackover State Bank.