Dennis James Memorial Scholarship Award

The History

The Dennis James Memorial Scholarship was established in honor of Dennis James, well known in the El Dorado area for his acting and singing ability. James was a familiar face at SAAC where he participated in countless plays from childhood on, creating memorable roles, including a masterstroke with his creation of “Pseudolus” in the 2005 summer musical, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum. James also performed with the SAAC’s fundraising group, 5th and Broadway, as well as with innumerable church and community groups. The fund was created after James’ untimely passing from Leukemia in 2006.

Past Recipients

2022: Kesynce Daniel
2021: Hannia Valera
2020: LaDiamond Maker
2019: Cami Lowrey
2018: Clayton Bolding
2017: Sophia Meyer and Alex Ramirez

2016: Christina Lehew
2015: Kacey Earnest

2014: Alex Jeffery
2013: Jaron Kloap
2012: Jacob George
2011: Caleb Carrier

2010: Thomas Brewster
2009: Natalie Rothwell
2008: Alex Jeffery
2007: Tyler Winn (the first recipient)

Dennis James Memorial Scholarship Award for 2020

Scholarship Application Info

  • The Scholarship may cover the cost of tuition, mandatory fees, and/or books.
  • There shall be no geographical limitations on the places of study as long as they are approved and/or accredited educational institutions.
  • Should there be no qualified candidates for the scholarship, the proceeds from the fund can be used to provide arts projects at area non profits for the good of the community.

The Scholarship Recipient Must:

  • Exhibit a love for the performing arts of music and theatre and be an active participant in those pursuits.
  • Have made a contribution to the community in those areas
  • Pledges to make a life-long contribution and commitment to the arts in their community.

To Apply: