SAAC invites you to the 2023 Student Art Show and Competition Awards Reception. This fun and lively exhibit, sponsored by R. Eric Hatley, MD, will hang in the Merkle and Price Galleries through March 11 with the Artist’s Reception on Saturday, February 25, from 2:00-3:30pm. The awards presentation by judge Kelly Campbell will beginning at 2:30 pm.

This exhibit showcases 178 works by talented K-12 students from El Dorado, Norphlet, Smackover, Junction City, Parkers Chapel, Monticello and Fordyce.

“Student artwork is special to me,” said Campbell. “During my tenure as an art teacher, I was amazed at the work students are capable of producing. I have student artwork hanging in my home – some of which was purchased from this very competition.”

Campbell’s appreciation for student art began many years ago. Before coming to work at SAAC and teaching classes there, she spent 26 years teaching art in public schools in Union County. Twenty-four of those were spent at Union in 7th-12th instruction, along with weekly full class lessons for grades 4-6 and in-depth lessons for gifted and talented for grades 4-6. The last two years were spent teaching art in grades K-8. She said, “Some of my students went on to become art teachers or professional artists, some just practice art in their daily lives, and some have children who have inherited their talent.”

According to Campbell, “Judging student art requires more than saying ‘Oh, that’s a pretty picture!’. Skillful use of media, originality, and use of elements and principles of art (according to age level, of course) all are considerations when making choices. It’s not an easy task.”

Cash prizes will be awarded. Selected from all entries received, the $100 Grand Prize will go to the Best of Show, and additional cash prizes will be awarded in each division for First Place ($50), Second Place ($25), and Third Place ($15).Work has been divided into four divisions for judging: K-2 Grade, 3-5 Grade, 6-9 Grade, and 10-12 Grade.

For more information about this exhibit, please call the SAAC office at 870-862-5474.

South Arkansas Arts Center

El Dorado School District

Yocum Primary
Aubree Avery
Aubrielle Payne
Caleb Murphy
Dolah Sharhan
Emalynn Johnson
Mariah Nelson
Roni Foster

Hugh Goodwin Elementary
Adalene Langford
Alanis Thompson
Amari Tubbs
Arka Durvasula
Avery Speer
Barrett Hicks
Bentley Broach
Brayden Murray
Brayden Patterson
Calvin Young
Cami Doherty
Carleigh King
Clara Farrin
Dixon Davis
Egypt Tubbs
Elizabeth Geurin
Emmett Lee
Geneva Hensley
Gracelee Aaron
Grayson Roberson
J.D. McCurey
Jacob Pennington
Jai Durvasula
Jay Renfro
Je’Zavion Williams
Jonsie Bledsoe
Josiah Yepez
Kamryn Roberson
Kannen Newton
Killian Goodnight
Layla Small
Liv Compton
Luke Aguiluz
Maggie Bogle
Mia Pitard
Morgan Clark
Nora Speer
Parker Benson
Priscilla Martinez
Raeden Murphy
Raegan Smith
Taelar Snow
Taylnn Clark
Taylor Grace Stone
Tinzleigh Slater
Virginia Louise Young
Will Clark
Zoey Curl

Northwest Elementary
Rosie Allen

Yocum Elementary
Aubreanna Modica
Bella Hammond
Elise Lewis
Emeri Price
Emma Boone
Esperanza Mondragon
Grace Lewis
Gracie Ford
Gustavo Medina
Janiya Walker
Jimena Santillana
Joseph Marquez
Kason Floyd
Leah Long
Makayla George
Makenlee Dunn
Mariana Meza
Marley Rozier
Mia Ibarra
Noah Dansby
Sereniti Fifer
Sofia Mondragon
Ta’Leah McAlphin
Tomas Morton
Verity Horn
Xander Woolard
Za’Raielle Maker
Zoe McIntosh

Washington Middle School
Aarvi Desai
Annalee Ibert
Cayden Ford
Cesar Baylon
Citlaly Venegas
Eden Webb
Jane Wilson
Melissa Gomez
Tyrese Gibson

Barton Junior High School
Harper Allen

El Dorado High School
Ashlyn Rogers
Jill Stone
Maggie McDaniel
Nahomy Arellano
Shaneya Smith

West Side Christian School
Abdiel Hernandez
Addie Snyder
Amaya Mateo
Charlotte Sneed
Collette Pridgen
Ellie Lain
Evie Johnson
Madeline Butler

Ayla Caraway
Keaton Rushing
Kinley Rushing
Michael Burke
Reagan McAnulty
Trinity Thomas

Smackover-Norphlet Schools
Landon Everett
Niklaus Parslow
Olivia Burdue

Parkers Chapel Schools
Adaya Lewis
Maxx Foster
Nevaeh Graves
Zoie Wilson

Fordyce High School
Aaliyah Simmons
Caitlyn Jendrejas
Christina Manor
Darci Slaughter
Dasia Brazil
Emma Barnes
Jaden Rogers
Jeremy Bankhead
Kaylee Clark
Kia Allen
Kyra Butler
Lainey Jordan
Madelyn Whiteside
Markajah Dinson
Mary Helen Crain
Miley Gray
Presley Grace
Tieyah Allen
Yolanda Tatum

Drew Central High School
in Monticello
Brayden Johnson
Isabella Sheffield
Jacob Bennett
Kadence Meier
Maggie Ann Martin
Maura McMickle