Small Works on Paper returns to the South Arkansas Arts Center Price Gallery April 7 – May 26. Sponsored by the Arkansas Arts Council, and agency of Arkansas Heritage, the traveling exhibit features thirty-eight pieces created by twenty-six Arkansas artists.

Small Works on Paper is an annual juried competition that showcases one of a kind artwork that is no larger than 18” x 24”. Now in its 34th year, the competition spotlights members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, the Arkansas Arts Council’s online artist gallery.

Local artist and SAAC member, Dr. Moises Menendez from Magnolia, Arkansas, will be part of this exhibition.  Dr. Menendez piece accepted in this years exhibit is an oil painting entitled “Ceramic Vase with Lilacs”.

“We are excited to be able to recognize the wonderful and diverse talent of visual artist throughout Arkansas,” said Stacey Hurst, secretary for the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. “Small Works on Paper showcases artists from every corner of our sate and gives art lovers the opportunity to discover emerging artists and experiences on-of-a-kind artworks they may otherwise never see.”

Judy Ledgerwood, recently retired Professor in the Arts at Northwestern University in Illinois, reviewed 200 submitted artworks to choose the thirty-eight pieces for the 2021 Small Works on Paper annual traveling visual arts exhibit. Ledgerwood also selected the purchase award pieces to become part of the SWOP permeant collection.

“The 2021 Small Works on Paper will be an experience no Arkansas will want to miss. In 2020, Arkansas artists submitted an array of works that captures the emotions, hopes, and fears of 2020”, said Patrick Ralston, Arkansas Arts Council director. “Artists are a vital resource for Arkansas, and they are an important component of our state’s vision, heritage, culture, and economy.”

The galleries at SAAC are open to the public 9am – 5pm, Monday – Friday.

The following artists were selected to participate in the exhibit:

Tony Baker, of Little Rock
Win Bruhl, of Little Rock
Ian Scott Campbell, of Batesville
Gary Cawood, of Little Rock
Susan Baker Chambers, of Little Rock
Kinya Christian, of Springdale
Taylor Dolan, of Fayetteville
Laura Fanning, of Little Rock
Terra Fondriest, of St. Joe
Ike Garlington, of Little Rock
Neal Harrington, of Russellville
Tammy Harrington, of Russellville
Diana Michelle Hausam, of West Fork
Crystal Jennings, of Rison
Kimiara L. Johnson, of Pine Bluff
Stephen Koch, of Little Rock
Pat Langewis, of Hot Springs Village
Sandra Marson, of Jacksonville
Dennis McCann, of Maumelle
Moises Menendez, of Magnolia
Cindy Momchilov, of Little Rock
Eloa Jane Pereira, of Fayetteville
David Rackley, of Russellville
Lynn Reinbolt, of Searcy
Kendall Schulz, of Bentonville
Gary Simmons, of Hot Springs

The Arkansas Arts Council, an agency of Arkansas Heritage, advances the arts in Arkansas by providing services and supporting arts endeavors that encourage and assist literary, performing, and visual artists in achieving standards of professional excellence. In addition, the Arkansas Arts Council provides technical and financial assistance to Arkansas arts organizations and other providers of cultural and educational programs.