On Saturday, July 13, Rene Barilleaux from the McNay Art Museum in San Antonio, Texas, made his final decisions for the award winners of the SAAC 2019 Juried Art Competition. Award winners are:

Honorable Mention: Rose Anne Raphael – New Iberia, Louisiana – Chandelier – digital photography

Third Place: Spencer Purinton – El Dorado, Arkansas – After Entropy – acrylic on panel

Second Place: Aaron Calvert – Russellville, Arkansas – Da Rabbit – stoneware clay, underglaze, gold enamel

First Place: Naomi Schlinke – Austin, Texas – Matador – collage, artist painted papers and map pins

Best of Show: AJ Smith – Little Rock, Arkansas – Faces of the Delta: The Storyteller and His Wife – graphite pencil

Wilma Riley Purchase Award: Debilynn Fendley – Arkadelphia, Arkansas – Swamp Rat – aquatint

The exhibit, sponsored by Linda and Louis Hall, will be on display in the Merkle and Price Galleries through July 30.

The Juried Competition is a national competition held annually at the South Arkansas Arts Center. Deadline for submission is usually mid May.